University of Strathclyde website

Setting Module Permissions

main content

When creating site content, you can control who can see each module on a page (for instance, you may have a welcome page with two text modules, one for people who are logged in and one for people who are not).

Access is usually controlled using security roles, though you can add individual usernames to module permissions.

Set the permissions for a module

  1. Go to the module.
  2. Select  Manage >  Settings from the module actions menu.
  3. Select the Permissions tab.
  4. Optional. To remove all permissions for a user or role, click the Delete button in the Actions column.
  5. Optional. To only modify permissions for roles and users that are already displayed on the page, skip to Step 8.
  6. Optional. To set permissions for a user that isn't displayed, enter their display name into the Username text box and click the Add button. Repeat to add additional users.
  7. Optional. To set permissions for a role that isn't displayed, select one of the following options from the Filter By Group drop down list, choose a role from the Select Role drop down list and then click the Add button:
    • < All Roles >: Select to view all roles (both global and group roles) in one single list.
    • < Global Roles >: Select to view all roles which are not associated with a Role Group. This includes Administrators, All Users, Registered Users, and Unauthenticated Users.
    • [Role Name]: Select the name of a Role Group to view the roles within that group.
  8. Optional. At Inherit View permissions from Page, select from these options:
    • Mark  the check box if the users who are authorized to view the page this module is located on are always authorized to view this module. This displays the Security Roles Security Locked image in the View Module column indicating that the view security is 'locked'. Skip to step 8.
    • Unmark  the check box  to set different permissions for viewing this module than set for the page it is located on. This will enable the check boxes in the View Module column.
  9. In the View Module column, click on the check box beside a role/username repeatedly until the correct permission is displayed. The following options are available:
    • Not Specified: Permissions are not specified. Users cannot view the module unless they belong to another role/username that has been granted permission.
    • Permission Granted: Users can view the module.
    • Permission Denied Permission Denied: Users cannot view the module. If these users have been granted permission to view the module under another role/username, this setting will override those permissions.
  10. In the Edit Module column, click on the check box beside a role/username repeatedly until the correct permission is displayed. The following options are available:
    • Not Specified: Permissions are not specified. Users cannot add or edit content unless they belong to another role/username that has been granted permissions.
    • Permission Granted: Users can add and edit the module content.
    • Permission Denied Permission Denied: Users cannot add or edit content. If these users have been granted permission to edit the content under another role/username, this setting will override those permissions.
  11. Click the Update button.

 

Adapted from DNN help